Pekin YWCA invites you their Open House

We are having an Open House to honor the award recipients and their tutor on Monday, September 10, 2018 from 4 p.m. until 6 p.m.  There will be light refreshments.  Everyone is invited.  We encourage everyone to stop by to show support for the learners, their tutor, and the YWCA adult literacy program.

Secretary of State and State Librarian Jesse White honored the winners of the 2018 Spotlight on
Literacy Awards, which recognizes participants in Illinois literacy programs. Ten students
received the Spotlight on Achievement Award and ten volunteer tutors received the Spotlight on
Service Award during a ceremony at the Illinois State Library in Springfield.

“I am honored to congratulate these outstanding students for their hard work and determination
to attain lifelong reading and learning skills,” said White. “Many of them have had to overcome
great difficulties and personal obstacles to reach this level of achievement. I am also proud to
recognize our outstanding volunteer tutors for their generosity and encouragement in helping
literacy students achieve their utmost potential.”

This year, 89 programs are supporting adult, family and workplace literacy efforts statewide.
Last year, with 48 literacy programs statewide, 5,941 adult students were served by 3,278
volunteer tutors.

Below is a list of award winners:

2018 Spotlight on Achievement

• Jaqueline Aparicio and Darwin Amaya, YWCA in Pekin
• Deborah A. Buckner, Baby TALK through Richland Community College in
• Gil Rogelio Arce Urisquieta, Literacy Chicago in Chicago
• Eugene Street, The Literacy Council in Rockford
• Michelle Hernandez, Howard Area Community Center in Chicago
• Martha Reyes, Joliet Junior College in Joliet
• Adriana Zarate, PODER Learning Center in Chicago
• Lourdes Castelan, Literacy DuPage in Naperville
• Ruben Vega, Morton College in Cicero
• Maria G. Bazan Guillen, Corazon a Corazon in Blue Isand
2018 Spotlight on Service
• David Allen, Lewis & Clark Community College in Godfrey
• Phil Hjemboe, The Literacy Council in Rockford
• John Ostergren, Oakton Community College in Skokie
• Kate Adams, Chinese Mutual Aid Association in Chicago
• Marlene Delaney, Township High School District 214 in Arlington Heights
• Shelly Hanson, Hana Center in Chicago
• Marlene Greenberg, Township High School District 214 in Arlington Heights
• Sarah Poontong, South-East Asia Center in Chicago
• Edward Schultz, Howard Area Community Center in Chicago
• Marti Vandervest, Oakton Community College in Skokie


Popular posts from this blog

Local High School to Win a SMART Board in 5th Annual Recycle Your Style Contest

Methodist Offers Free Informational Heart Program

Pekin Insurance Focusing on Strategic Initiative